Edward Reeves took up studio photography in Lewes in 1855. Today his great-grandson is still running the business, believed to be the oldest continuously operated photographic studio in the world.
The Reeves Studio has an archive of over 100,000 glass plates and related paperwork. It is a unique record of the daily life of this market town and the history of commercial photographic practice. This exhibition, highlighting the work of the first three generations, shows photographs in light boxes in more than 50 shop windows along Station Street and Lewes High Street, at the location where they were originally taken.
An exhibition about equipment and photographic processes shows in the Lewes Castle Museum, in conjunction with the Sussex Archaeological Society and another at the Reeves Studio about its history – please check reevesarchive.co.uk for opening hours and a related online exhibition
Exhibition trail starts at Lewes station via station street to Lewes High Street, Lewes, BN7 1XU Curated by Brigitte Lardinois, Senior Research Fellow at London College Communication and Deputy Director of Photography Archive Research Centre at University of the Arts, London and Matt Haycocks, Lecturer Belfast School of Architecture, University of Ulster. Assistant Curator, Yaz Norris, photographer. Exhibitions funded by the Chalk Cliff Trust, South Downs National Park Authority, Friends of Lewes and the Photography and Archive Research Centre and the London College of Communication at UAL.
This event is accessible to wheelchair users.